Members of the Independent Emissions Market Advisory Committee

Dallas Burtraw, Chair

Darius Gaskins Senior Fellow, Resources for the Future

Dallas Burtraw was appointed to the IEMAC by Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. in June 2018. Burtraw is the Darius Gaskins senior fellow at Resources for the Future. He has worked to promote efficient control of air pollution and written extensively on electricity industry regulation and environmental outcomes. His current research includes analysis of the distributional and regional consequences of climate policy, the evolution of electricity markets including renewable integration, and the interaction of climate policy with electricity markets. He has provided technical support in the design of carbon dioxide emissions trading programs in California, the Northeast, and the European Union. Burtraw holds a doctorate in economics and a master’s degree in public policy from the University of Michigan and a bachelor’s degree from the UC Davis.

Daniel Cullenward, Vice-Chair

Senior Fellow, Kleinman Center for Energy Policy, University of Pennsylvania

Daniel Cullenward was appointed to the IEMAC by Senate President Pro Tempore Kevin de León in September 2017. Cullenward is an energy economist and lawyer working on the design and implementation of scientifically grounded climate policy. He is the Policy Director at CarbonPlan and a Lecturer at Stanford Law School, where he teaches courses on energy and climate policy. Along with UCSD Professor David G. Victor, he is the co-author of Making Climate Policy Work, a book about the political economy of market-based climate policies. He holds a Juris Doctor degree from Stanford Law School and a doctorate in Environment and Resources (E-IPER) from Stanford University.

Meredith Fowlie, Member

Associate Professor, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics, UC Berkeley 

Meredith Fowlie was appointed to the IEMAC by Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. in June 2018. Fowlie is an associate professor in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics at UC Berkeley, where she was an assistant professor from 2009 to 2012. She is also a research associate at UC Berkeley’s Energy Institute at Haas and at the National Bureau of Economic Research. She earned a doctorate in Environmental and Resource Economics from UC Berkeley and a master’s degree in environmental economics from Cornell University.

Katelyn Roedner photo

Katelyn Roedner Sutter, Member

California State Director, Environmental Defense Fund 

Katelyn Roedner Sutter was appointed to the IEMAC by California Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon in May 2021. Roedner is the California State Director at the Environmental Defense Fund. In addition to leading climate work, she leads regulatory and legislative issues for the fund across the West. Her focus is on advancing policies that establish and implement long-term greenhouse gas emission reductions and improve local air quality.  She holds a master’s degree in ethics and social theory from Graduate Theological Union in Berkeley, and a bachelor’s in international affairs from George Washington University.

Brian Holt, Member

Business Manager/ Financial Secretary of IBEW Local 428 

Brian Holt was appointed to the IEMAC by Governor Gavin Newsom in December 2022. Holt is the Business Manager/ Financial Secretary of IBEW Local 428, representing electrical construction and maintenance workers in Kern County, California. He is the current Chair of the Kern County Joint Apprenticeship and Training Trust, Executive Board Member for both the Kern Inyo and Mono Counties Building and Construction Trades and Central Labor Councils (AFL-CIO), the President of the Civil Service Commission for the County of Kern, and member of the local Work Force Development Board. Holt has also served on the Public Safety and Vital Services Oversight Committee for the City of Bakersfield.

Brian Holt

Ross Brown, Observer 

Fiscal & Chief Deputy Legislative Analyst, Legislative Analyst’s Office 

Ross Brown serves as a non-voting advisor to the IEMAC.