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In accordance with California Code of Regulations, Title 27, Article 5, Sections 15250 and 15290, 
each Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA) shall remit collected state surcharge revenues to the 
Secretary for California Environmental Protection (CalEPA) within 30 days of the end of each state 
fiscal quarter.  The surcharge transmittal report should only reflect applicable program element 
surcharge component amounts and should not reflect remittance of any assessed late fees or other 
charges. 

Each quarterly Surcharge Transmittal Report (formally known as Report 1) shall be specific to the 
reporting quarter indicated and shall reflect the amount of revenues collected for each of program 
element relative to the following surcharge components as described in Title 27, Article 5, Section 
15240(c): 
CUPA Oversight* 
$49.00 - Assessed Per Regulated Business  

Aboveground Petroleum Storage Act (APSA) 
$26.00 - Assessed Per Regulated Tank Facility  

Underground Storage Tank (UST) Program* 
$20.00 - Assessed Per Regulated UST  

California Accidental Release Prevention (CalARP) Program 
$270.00 - Assessed Per Business 

Refinery Safety** Assessed to Refinery Facilities according to the daily barrel capacity (DBC) 
$45,000 - Tier 1 (equal to or greater than 200,000 DBC) 
$27,500 - Tier 2 (100,000 to 199,999 DBC) 
$13,750 - Tier 3 (50,000 to 99,999 DBC) 
$ 3,500 - Tier 4 (Less than 50,000 DBC) 

*Effective fiscal year 2017-2018, the CUPA Oversight surcharge increased by $14 per regulated 
business and the UST surcharge increased by $5 per regulated tank. 

**Effective fiscal year 2018-2019, the Refinery Safety surcharge was established. 
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The Surcharge Transmittal Report shall be completed as follows: 
CUPA: 
Enter the Certified Unified Program Agency remitting surcharges to CalEPA. 

Date Submitted: 
Enter the date the Report is being submitted to CalEPA. Surcharge shall be remitted to CalEPA 
according to California State Fiscal Year Quarters as follows: 

• Quarter 1 (July, August, September) due by October 30th 
• Quarter 2 (October, November, December) due by January 30th 
• Quarter 3 (January, February, March) due by April 30th 
• Quarter 4 (April, May, June) due by July 30th   

Fiscal Year of Accrued Surcharges: 
Enter the fiscal year for which remitted surcharges were accrued/billed.   
Remittance of surcharges can be submitted for previous fiscal years. 

Fiscal Quarter of Collected Surcharges: 
Enter the Fiscal Year quarter for which remitted surcharges were collected. 
 
Check Number: 
Enter the number of the check being submitted for surcharge remittance. 
Completed by: 
Enter the name of the person completing the Report. 

Telephone Number: 
Enter the telephone number of the person completing the Report. 

Program Element:  
Identifies the Surcharge Fee Components which could be included in the remitted check total amount. 

Amount Remitted: 
Enter the surcharge amount being remitted for all regulated Businesses, Facilities, or Tanks.  Do not 
include surcharge amounts previously collected or reported.   
The amount remitted for each program element should fit the following calculation: 
Total Remitted Amount = 
Program Element Surcharge multiplied by number of Regulated Businesses, Facilities, or Tanks   

Remittance checks are to be made payable to the Secretary for Environmental Protection. 
The Surcharge Transmittal Report and remittance check can be submitted to CalEPA, care of  
the Air Resources Board, at:  

Air Resources Board 
Attn: Accounting 
P.O. Box 1436 
Sacramento, California 95812 

An electronic copy of this Surcharge Transmittal Report (including quarters for which $0 was 
collected) must also be sent to cupa@calepa.ca.gov. For questions, please contact the Unified 
Program at the same email.
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