Independent Emissions Market Advisory Committee Members


Dallas Burtraw, Chair

Darius Gaskins Senior Fellow, Resources for the Future

Dallas Burtraw was appointed to the IEMAC by Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. in June 2018. Burtraw is the Darius Gaskins senior fellow at Resources for the Future, where he was a senior fellow from 1998 to 2010 and a fellow from 1989 to 1998. He was a program manager at SolarCal Local Government Commission on Conservation and Renewable Resources from 1981 to 1982. Burtraw is a member of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists and the American Economic Association. Burtraw has worked to promote efficient control of air pollution and written extensively on electricity industry regulation and environmental outcomes. His current research includes analysis of the distributional and regional consequences of climate policy, the evolution of electricity markets including renewable integration, and the interaction of climate policy with electricity markets. He has provided technical support in the design of carbon dioxide emissions trading programs in California, the Northeast, and the European Union. He also has studied regulation of nitrogen oxides and sulfur dioxide under the Clean Air Act and conducted integrated assessment of costs, and modeled health and ecosystem effects and valuation, including ecosystem improvement in the Adirondack Park and the southern Appalachian region. Burtraw holds a doctorate in economics and a master’s degree in public policy from the University of Michigan and a bachelor’s degree from the UC Davis.


Ann Carlson, Vice Chair

Shirley Shapiro Professor of Environmental Law, Faculty Director of the Emmett Institute on Climate Change and the Environment at UCLA School of Law

Ann Carlson was appointed to the IEMAC by Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon in March 2018. She is the Shirley Shapiro Professor of Environmental Law and the inaugural faculty director of the Emmett Institute on Climate Change and the Environment at the UCLA School of Law. Carlson is also on the faculty of the UCLA Institute of the Environment and a member of the University of California Global Climate Leadership Council, which seeks to implement a policy of carbon neutrality across all UC campuses by 2025. Carlson received her Juris Doctor degree from Harvard Law School and her bachelor’s degree from the UC Santa Barbara.


 Daniel Cullenward

Policy Director, Near Zero

Daniel Cullenward was appointed to the IEMAC by Senate President Pro Tempore Kevin de Leon in September 2017. Cullenward is the policy director at Near Zero and a research associate at the Carnegie Institution for Science. He also teaches courses on energy and climate law at Stanford Law School. Cullenward is an energy economist and lawyer working on the design and implementation of scientifically grounded climate policy. He previously taught climate policy as the inaugural Philomathia Research Fellow at UC Berkeley. In addition to his research and policy work, Cullenward has represented environmental scientists as amici in the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals and the U.S. Supreme Court. He holds a Juris Doctor degree from Stanford Law School and a doctorate in Environment and Resources (E-IPER) from Stanford University, where he earned his master’s degree in management science and engineering and a bachelor’s degree in earth systems.A


Meredith Fowlie

Associate Professor, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics, UC Berkeley

Meredith Fowlie was appointed to the IEMAC by Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. in June 2018. Fowlie is an associate professor in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics at UC Berkeley, where she was an assistant professor from 2009 to 2012. She is also a research associate at UC Berkeley’s Energy Institute at Haas and at the National Bureau of Economic Research. She earned a doctorate in Environmental and Resource Economics from UC Berkeley and a master’s degree in environmental economics from Cornell University.



Ross Brown – Observer

Principal Fiscal & Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst’s Office